Dear Single Friends, I Love You

First, thanks to Mama Kat for providing this incredible inspiration: she emails blog prompts weekly and encourages us to share our posts. Talk about great motivation to write! So, starting today, I am going to be picking one or more prompts from her site to blog about… you’re looking for some inspiration, check out her extensive list, you will not be disappointed.

The Prompt: A list of things you no longer have in common with your single/childless friends…and why you love them anyways. (and a list I shall provide…)

Dear single friends, the following is a list of things we no longer have in common. Mostly, I am envious.

I no longer have the time to go out and party on the weekend, until 2am. When I am in bed at 11pm on a Saturday, I envy you, out there in your pretty patent leather pumps and new Theory dress. Ugh, I would give anything to even own a Theory dress… but, with marriage comes sacrifice and I gave up designer clothes for an energy bill. Sigh…

No, I will not create a match.com account so I can give you the thumbs up on the guy you’re interested in. But, if you create one for me and slip the password into my wallet, I will not shun you.

I am really not interested in hearing about how you went another whole week without grocery shopping. We don’t even have kids yet, but I have a husband to keep fed and if we don’t have a stocked fridge, someone gets grumpy. Yeah… that’s right. Me.

I’m so glad you lost another dress size. Really. There’s something you should know about marriage, I think they call it: letting yourself go. It happens, and if you think it won’t, get ova’ it. Yes, I am trying to exercise and eat right but wedded bliss is a wonderful opportunity to “forget” going to the gym every day. Whoops. Whatever, I have no one to impress – “fat” is not a good enough excuse to leave a wife.

I would really love it if you would come meet my dog! I guess I forgot to tell you, but we don’t have kids yet, therefore I am going to adopt a dog and insist you meet her, love her and spoil her as you would my children. Please do not suggest un-dog-friendly weekend activities, as this is the only time I get to spend with her. Also, please do not feed her that crap… she’s on a grain free, organic, free range, Canadian bison diet. Thanks.

Please keep calling, texting, emailing, etc. Even though I may seem like a shitty friend it is really not personal, between laundry, work, relaxing, cooking and the occasional outing I rarely have time to brush my teeth. These things become much more difficult when married. I don’t know why. But they do. But I love you, miss you and really hope you’ll call soon so we can catch up. And please please please, tell me about that guy you met at the bar last night.

xo, a

6 Comments to “Dear Single Friends, I Love You”

  1. marriage really change a lot of things but strengthen some more important things…. 🙂 single friends understand, great post… you really write well,

    stay happy

  2. Love your list! I do think it’s funny that singles don’t think their married friends want to hang out anymore. Obviously, we don’t have as much time to do so, but it’s still nice to be invited. However, I moved about 200 miles away from most of my friends when getting married, so staying in contact is even harder. And I’m not any better than they are about it… Great post! 🙂

  3. Oh, those are good ones, too! Thanks for stopping by! Although I gotta tell ya, if you plan on having kids, that last one only gets worse!!

  4. 11PM on a Saturday? That’s sooooooo late! After having a kid I now turn into a pumpkin after 9:30!

  5. Hey faithful comment-ers, I have moved my blog to http://www.vitaebellablog.com ! I hope you will come along 🙂

Leave a Reply

