Dear Mr. Barista

As mentioned in my “Blog Goals” I am planning on using blog prompts as often as I need to in order to get my creative juices flowing (whoever came up with that phrase must have had some major body-fluid issues… vom). This blog is my first official foray into writing with the hopes of discovering my “writing voice” for potential professional use (grant writing, copy writing, journalism… who knows), but most definitely for personal blogging use. Therefore, blog prompts (I am hoping, at least) will provide an uninhibited platform from which I can take a flying leap… or at very least, a really big step.

Without further adieu, my first prompt, brought to you by Mind Bump, and suggested by Out of Tune Piano. The prompt: Write a love letter to the person that you last ordered your coffee from.

Dear Barista Boy,

You seemed a little shy today when you were handing me my coffee. Perhaps that is because you haven’t seen me around much… fear not, it has nothing to do with you at all. Merely, your coffee establishment only pleases me in the fall and winter months when their flavored lattés are at their peak. However, I digress. This is about us, not them.

I really think your new hair style is suiting you well. Is this what they call “emo”? You see, I’m sort of like a cougar, being all of six years older than you, so the boys I dated at your age would not have dreamed of growing their hair like that. I think it’s nice that you can flip it over your shoulder like a toddler girl, but in a totally sexy, masculine way. And of course, there isn’t anything at all wrong with you having hair like that at an eating establishment. Surely, the other customers must love it as much as I.

I noticed you looking at my wedding band today… yes, it’s true, I am married. I realize that in sweatpants and a sweatshirt it can be hard to imagine anyone wanting to marry me (ha!) but fear not, I only wear this when I come to see you so my husband doesn’t get the wrong idea. I wouldn’t want him to think I was dressing up to see you! And don’t worry, if we were lovers I would never be seen in public dressed like such a slovenly, unkempt housewife who hardly has time to shower, never mind put on pants with a zipper. No… besides, I’m not really supposed to be here anyway… we’re on a budget and all and your employer seems to be raising their prices, which is interesting in this economy.

Anyway, I hope that you are reading this on your coffee break (ironic, isn’t it… that you work at a coffee shop… no? ok…) and thinking fondly of the next time I will come in. I hope you noticed that I put my $0.34 in the tip cup. Make sure you claim it. I would have handed it directly to you, but I wouldn’t want to be seen as rude in front of the other barista’s. If you would like to see me sooner than next Saturday morning, please drop a letter off at my office around the corner and if so, could you bring a 6 pump, venti, extra shot, extra hot, nonfat, no whip, pumpkin spice latté?

Fondly,

Amy

Tags:

3 Comments to “Dear Mr. Barista”

  1. We’ve got things in common.. 🙂 I too love coffee and I love it hot! And just like you, we’re on a budget so I only had coffee at home – everyday.

    This is one great start of a blog prompt. 🙂 Keep it coming… and hope you get to use your writing voice as often as you want it… (more grant/copy writing for you)

    nice day to you…

  2. Haha! I love your sense of humor! (btw, that is awesome that we have the same bedding. Great minds things alike!) Blessing on your day, amiga! 🙂

  3. Hey faithful comment-ers, I have moved my blog to http://www.vitaebellablog.com ! I hope you will come along 🙂

Leave a Reply

